Second RAAF four-star appointed

On this day, the Chief of the Air Staff, Air Marshal Sir Neville McNamara, was promoted to Air Chief Marshal and appointed to the top uniformed position in the Australian Defence Force as Chief of the Defence Force Staff (CDFS). He was the first RAAF officer to hold the CDFS post since it was created in February 1976, and the last before it was renamed Chief of the Defence Force in October 1986. Sir Neville was also the last Air Force chief to be knighted under the old Imperial honours system, and only the second RAAF officer to hold four-star rank since Sir Frederick Scherger was so promoted in 1965 (while in the last year of his second term as Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee). Air Chief Marshal McNamara retired on 12 April 1984.

Air Force Logo